Resources--Online Reference Books
Titles pertinent for your class from the robust Gale Virtual Reference database:
World Education Encyclopedia: Survey of educational systems for 233 countries.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life: Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: Information on 200 countries, from banking and securities to climate, government data and demographics.
Encyclopedia of Religion: Covers the history, traditions and worldviews of dominant and less prominent religions.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture: A survey of food and its place in human culture and society.
The World's Nations and Cultures: Provides compact descriptions for 190 countries, including the dominant political, economic, social and cultural systems.
Political Handbook of the World: Facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. Offers extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system around the world.
Another robust set of encyclopedias may be found in the Credo database.
The Phoenix College Library subscribes to a variety of magazine/journal article databases. Those suggested for your class include:
Global Road Warrior Information includes customs, etiquette, social life, economy and more for 175 countries!
Academic Search Premier Articles in magazines, newspapers and journals on politics, economics, cultural topics of interest.
Academic & General OneFile More magazine and newspaper articles discussing the politics, government, economy and social issues within the country.
JSTOR Includes scholarly articles on different aspects of social life, customs, history for different countries and cultures.
Lexis Nexis Academic Universe - Provides articles in newspapers in English from around the world.
National Newspaper Core - Articles in key national newspapers which tend to cover the world as well as domestic issues (New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, and Wall Street Journal).
Ethnic Newswatch Contains news articles representing different cultures and countries' issues.
Using the PC Library Catalog
The PC Library holds a great collection of printed books. You can search the collection right here or go to the main PC Library Catalog.
--Start by searching on your country and then add culturally related terms, for example India AND health, Brazil AND religion, Niger AND mythology, New Zealand AND "social life AND customs", Japan AND traditions
--Also try searching on encyclopedia AND food, encyclopedia AND culture, encyclopedia AND religion to get a different set of results.
Here are some reference book titles to get you going:
The Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems [electronic resource]
Books - Electronic
Use this LINK to access and search the 43,000+ titles located in Ebrary.
Using the ADVANCED SEARCH first try limiting to the SEARCH IN TITLE. Then type in your country's name, such as Kenya.
Note: the check boxes, such as Economic Impact or Politics & Government can be used to find e-Books in a narrower aspect about your country.
Accessing Library Resources From Off-Campus
When you click on a Library database link from home, a box will pop up (see below). In it you will place your MEID login and the last 4 numbers of the phone number you used when you registered for classes, as listed in you my.maricopa account. If you have trouble, you can also login using your Blackboard login if you are working with BlackBoard for one of your courses. If you continue to have trouble accessing, go into your my.maricopa to ensure your phone number is current. Also, you can call 602-285-7473 during Library hours to get more feedback.
Country Related Web Sites
Increase the credibility of your Internet search results by adding site:.edu, site:.org, or site:.gov after your search terms. For example, search on sociology site:.edu.