Model UN Resources

a guide for students preparing for a Model UN Conference

PC Catalog Search

Search the library catalog for books and media. You can search the collection right here or go to the main PC Library Catalog.

 

 

Country Research

In order to represent your country, you need to educate yourself about it. UNA-USA provides a list of questions to guide your collecting information.

<< Use the box at the left to search the library's print collection for books about your country.

Global Road Warrior - Library database providing social, cultural, government and other basic facts about countries around the world. Geared for a business traveler goes beyond tourist information.

The World Factbook - Produced by the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), The World Factbook provides "basic intelligence," fact-based and fundamental information about a country (not the spy-stuff from movies).

Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2011 (2 volumes)  - reference book available from Gale Virtual Reference Library. Because much of this information is based on U.S. State Department sources, you may notice a distinct American diplomat point of view.

Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets - created by the U.S. State Department, these obviously focus on the U.S. relationship with the country (and can be quite brief). If you follow links to further information, don't bother clicking on Library of Congress Country Studies; these do not appear to have been updated recently.

The World Bank - Country pages with more of an economic slant. The World Bank is an international organization that is not exactly a bank but rather supports development by providing financial and technical assistance. 

Exploring Ethnicities

Ethnic identities often transcend the borders of countries and offer significant cultural insights. The reference series Ethnic Groups of the World groups peoples by ethno-linguistic classifications. While this is a helpful approach as language often links those who share heritage, it does omit some individual ethnicities. This series is available as ebooks in the Gale Virtual Reference collection.

Ethnic Groups of Africa and the Middle East: An Encyclopedia. John A. Shoup. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011. 

Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopedia. Ed. Jeffrey E. Cole. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011.

Ethnic Groups of Southeast Asia and the Pacific: An Encyclopedia. James B. Minahan. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2012.